First Dev Blog Post (2021.04.15)

An Overview: Where I am and where I would like to be.

Welcome to my new dev blog. I have set up this blog to document my ongoing progress in the tech sector and learning new tech skills. Posts will range from Today-I-Learned (TIL) posts to projects and personal experiences.

I am very new to developing but I see a lot of potential for me to spread my creative wings within the tech sector.

Who am I? That answer will vary depending on who you ask but I see myself as a very creative individual. I crave new knowledge that I can use to make things. I hope throughout this blog you will be able to get a flavour of who I am and what I am about. I am an ex-biologist turned techy person.

Why tech?: I was offered a place on a Code Nation 3-week boot camp on a whim by my job coach at the job centre. I accepted because I had always been curious about coding but didn't know where to start. I had so much fun meeting many new faces and seeing my ideas come to fruition. It was perfectly balanced and appealed to my technical but creative mind. I could close my eyes at night and see myself in this field, so that's what I aim to do.

Where I am Currently:

  • Unemployed.
  • Finished a 3-week boot camp with Code Nation.
  • Looking for and interviewing for new opportunities.
  • Got a confirmed place on the Code nation cohort of May.

Where I would like to be:

  • Employed (in the tech sector)
  • Working with other software developers and engineers, who I can collaborate with and learn from
  • Working in a mentally stimulating and modern sector

Current Skills:

  • Python
  • HTML
  • CSS
  • JavaScript
  • Computer Building

Skills I would like to gain:

  • React
  • Node.js
  • .NET
  • Java
  • MySQL
  • MongoDB
  • and More

My Impossible List for Coding: TBA